Volunteer Opportunities

FLRC is an entirely volunteer-run organization, from board members to race directors. As such, the club has many opportunities for anyone interested in supporting the running community to become involved.

To learn about what’s involved with race volunteer tasks and what other skills would be useful, check out the FLRC Volunteer Tasks and Attributes working document. For more information or if you have questions, send email to volunteer@fingerlakesrunners.org.

FLRC is using a new volunteer coordination tool called Helper Helper. It’s designed to make it easy for members of our community to sign up for volunteer opportunities and for race directors to communicate with volunteers. One of our goals for this year is to reduce friction in volunteering and make the overall experience more fun for all. Please sign up with Helper Helper and check out the current volunteer opportunities.

We ask that each club member commits to volunteering for at least one FLRC event per year. Our events succeed thanks to the efforts of members like you—can you give something back? Besides, volunteers always have a ton of fun!

Hartshorne Memorial Volunteer of the Year

FLRC recognizes those who go above and beyond with their volunteering efforts throughout a given year, contributing to the fun and smooth functioning of the Finger Lakes Runners Club. The Board of Directors nominates candidates; those candidates are then put out to the FLRC membership for voting. Voting takes place in December and the Volunteer of the Year is recognized at the FLRC Annual Meeting usually held in February/March.

Congrats to those who have received past Volunteer of the Year:

  • 2019: Tonya Engst
  • 2018: Alex Kleinerman
  • 2017: Mickie Sanders-Jauquet
  • 2016: Katie Stettler
  • 2015: Gerrit Van Loon and Steve Shaum
  • 2014: Adam Engst and Carl Franck
  • 2013: Gary McCheyne and Joel Cisne
  • 2012: Maria Costanzo
  • 2011: Chris Reynolds
  • 2010: not awarded
  • 2009: not awarded
  • 2008: Tim Ingall and Chris Irving
  • 2007: Nancy Kleinrock
  • 2006: Lennie Tucker
  • 2005: Dave Jones and Karen Grover (now Ingall)
  • 2004: John Whitman and Frank & Sally Rusby

Other past Volunteer of the Year winners include:

Tom Meyer, Phyllis Radke, Rick Hoebeke, Alan Lockett, Don Tily, Jim Miner, Jim Bisogni, John Sholeen, Joe Reynolds, Lorrie Tily, Herb Engman, Diane Sherrer, and Joe Dabes

Lifetime Members

The Finger Lakes Runners Club has a long history, and numerous individuals have contributed in many significant ways over the years. To honor their efforts, the FLRC Board of Directors periodically awards Lifetime Membership to those volunteers who have gone above and beyond over numerous years.