The Finger Lakes Runners Club is proud to announce the following scholarship program:


  • Two unrestricted $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to deserving high school seniors who participated on their school’s cross-country and/or track and field teams.
  • Eligible students must reside in Tompkins County or a surrounding county.
  • FLRC membership is not required.


  • To apply, please submit a letter describing your academic, extracurricular, and running achievements. Include any plans you may have for a running career beyond high school and the personal benefits you have gained by participating in the sport.
  • Include two letters of recommendation, one from a teacher and one from a coach.  Please do not send complete transcripts or additional material for consideration as these will not be reviewed.
  • Mail application materials to:
FLRC Scholarship Committee
Attn:  Lorrie Tily
P.O. Box 185
Locke, NY 13092

Identification of Recipient

  • The Scholarship Committee must receive scholarship applications by April 10, 2020.
  • Committee members will review submissions and identify recipients by May 8, 2020.
  • Recipients may be asked to present their scholarship application materials to the FLRC Board.

Past Winners


Miranda Wolf (Cincinnatus High School): $1000

Miranda participates in Track & Field for a school that does not have a track or fields. Originally a soccer player, she started running to stay in shape for soccer. She discovered the thrill of pushing herself to run harder and faster and has discovered the stress-relieving value of running. Miranda has a GPA of 97.6, is second in her class and has taken advantage of every AP course offered. She participates in many extracurricular actives and volunteer work. She had outstanding letters of recommendation. As one so elegantly wrote “at the core of her personality is someone who brings other people along with her on her path to greatness. She roots for others’ success along with her own.”

Elena Chung (Ithaca High School): $1000

“Elena was not one of my best runners, not even close. But that never changed her attitude towards practices and races. Every day, she came to practice in a good mood, ready to work hard and be a good teammate,” her coach writes. Her essay speaks of the mental health benefits of running, how she used it to overcome body image and appearance dissatisfaction. She cites her coach telling the team “running will always be your therapy.” She and her friends brought a chapter of Active Minds to their school. It is a mental wellness club that welcomes everyone. Having conversations with her peers has taught her how to “differentiate between my performance as an athlete and my self-worth”. She plans to join a running club to continue to share her passion for running. She will be an assistant coach for a recreational youth track program. She will be attending Cornell University in the Fall.


Elizabeth Rayle (Ithaca High School): $1000
Natalie Thomas (Marathon Central School): $1000


Carmen Bezner Kerr (Ithaca High School): $1000
Jake Avery (Ithaca High School): $1000
Tatianna Trojnor-Hill (Moravia Central School District): $1000


Colin Pritchard (Owego Free Academy): $1000
Ashleigh Crawford (Tully Junior-Senior High School): $1000
Abby Yatsko (Dryden High School): $500
Abigail Everett (Horseheads High School): $500


Matthew Lin (Ithaca): $1000
Julia Tantillo (Trumansburg): $1000
Eric Sinton (Ithaca): $500
Jacklyn Hoch (Cortland): $500


Jade Auchmoody (Homer): $1000
Freideric Handelmann (Homer): $1000
Bradley Dewitt (Moravia): $500
Matt Gill (Watkins Glen): $500
Samantha Gill (Watkins Glen): $500


Elizabeth Jewiss (Marathon): $1000
Derek Johnson (Horseheads): $1000
Emily Stansfield (Tioga): $500
Joshua Langley (Watkins Glen): $500
Allison Cronk (Groton): $500


Shauna Murray (Trumansburg): $1000
Josh Greenberg (Ithaca): $1000
Zoe McAlear (Ithaca): $500
Christopher Gill (Watkins Glen): $500


Kayla Prochnow (Trumansburg): $500
Sarah Danner (Trumansburg): $1000
Shannon Hazlitt (Watkins Glen): $500
Chris Handelmann (Homer): $1000